Express Makes Entire Catalog Shoppable On Facebook

With the crazy weather in Central New York, we girls have gotta wear long pants about 10 months out of the year. Booooo. This brings me great annoyance because I have freakishly long, skinny legs and can’t find pants to fit me. I’m sure by saying that it seems like I’m trying to highlight a positive physical attribute in a phony endearing self-deprecating kind of way – but I’m not. I’ve got an odd bod.

ANYWAY, I turned 30 in March but I abandoned the idea of shopping at Express long ago. Their brand is just a bit too sexy for me to identify with (again, odd bod). But I recently discovered that the pants at Express run long and some of them actually fit me. Plus, they’re called things like The Editor, The Journalist, The Columnist, and The Illustrator. I can identify with that.

So, in short, a few weeks ago I became an Express fan.

Then, Yesterday, I became a fan of Express on Facebook – but for an entirely different reason. An article posted  on Mashable informed me that Express began selling its entire catalog on Facebook. They’re one of the first major U.S. fashion retailers to do so.

Of course, I immediately had to check this out and see how it works. And it is awesome. There’s loads of potential in this initiative to build brand advocates. Some of the things they allow users to do (without even having to ‘Like’ the page):

  • Actually make purchases.
  • ‘Like’ articles of clothing.
  • Make wishlists.
  • Recommend items to friends.
  • Post purchases to wall.
  • Post comments on items.

And the list goes on.

Express’s shopping tab is definitely a great use of social media and I’ll be interested to follow how it works out for them. I expect to see Express’s competitors following soon in their footsteps and to see more Facebook clothing shopping options popping up soon.

The only question is, will anyone other than a few teenagers and sorority girls actually make use of all the social media features Express is offering? Given the fact that Express’s demographic is composed of trend and style enthusiasts, I think the sharing options will work out great for them. But would it work for other clothing brands?

Part of the appeal of Facebook is that users get to cultivate an online image and feel like they can control what others think of them. So I’m wondering: will shoppers be too vain to allow themselves to look vain? What percentage of shoppers would feel comfortable saying to all of their ‘friends,’ “I just bought these 3 tops” or “I wish I had this dress.” It’s kind like broadcasting to the world, “I care about what you think about me” and some might just find that to be embarrassing.

I got to thinking about this because my husband has this quirky, adorable habit of pointing out any new item of clothing I might be wearing if we’re hanging out with people. And I hate it. To me there’s something very private about buying clothes but again, maybe that’s just me. How would you feel if your significant other suddenly asked a group of people, “Do you like my wife’s new pants? They’re called The Editor?”

Leave a Reply

